Exceptional Care That Transforms.

Memorial Hospital Elects Medical Staff Officers

GULFPORT, Miss. —Memorial Medical Staff Officers were elected on September 21 and began serving their terms on October 1, 2016. They will serve through 2018.

Charles Slonaker, MD, was elected Chief of the Memorial Medical Staff. Dr. Slonaker is Board Certified in Blood Banking, Clinical Pathology, and Anatomic Pathology. He is a graduate of The University of Tennessee College of Medicine in Memphis, Tennessee. He was Fellowship trained in Blood Banking at St. Luke’s Episcopal in Houston, Texas. Dr. Slonaker completed his Pathology Residency at St. Luke’s Episcopal and The University of Tennessee College of Medicine. He has been practicing on the Gulf Coast for over 30 years. Dr. Slonaker served as Vice – Chief from 2014 to 2016.

Walter Surowiec, DO, was elected Vice-Chief. Dr. Surowiec is a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons. He received his doctorate in osteopathic medicine from the University of North Texas, Health Science Center in Fort Worth. He completed his residency in general surgery at Ochsner Clinic Foundation in New Orleans and completed fellowships in vascular and thoracic surgery at the Carolinas Heart Institute in Charlotte, North Carolina. Lastly, he completed a fellowship in Thoracic Transplant at Duke University. Dr. Surowiec was appointed to the medical staff in 2006 and served as Chairman of the Department of Surgery 2012 to 2016. Dr. Surowiec is Board Certified in Thoracic & Cardiac Surgery.

Clifton Leatherbury, MD, was elected Secretary-Treasurer. Dr. Leatherbury completed his medical degree and his Internal Medicine internship at the University of South Alabama College of Medicine in Mobile. He completed his Diagnostic Radiology Residency at the University of Mississippi Medical Center in Jackson. He is a native of Mobile and has resided in Gulfport/Biloxi for over six years. Dr. Leatherbury is certified by the American Board of Radiology. From 2014 to 2016, he served as the Chairman of the Medical Staff Department of In-House Specialties.

Alton Dauterive, MD served as past Chief of the Memorial Medical Staff.                                                                  

Related Articles

View More Related Articles